Green Tractor Talk banner

1-Series 60D Center Anti-Scalp Roller

11K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  aclass 
#1 ·
My 1026 with a 60D mower replaced a JD 650 with a 160 mid mower. The 650 setup did a great job mowing, however when I ran the 1026/60D on the same property, I ended up with many narrow scalped sections. Upon further consideration, it seemed that the 650/160 mower had a roller mounted in the center of the deck, the 1026/60D had a small steel skid plate which serves as a great shaving blade, leaving divot evidence all over the yard. I studied Tim's video on his fix for the 54D, but the 60D has many design limitations for that solution. I lived with that clear engineering design deficiency, until I recently found some conveyor components from one of my engineering assignment many years ago. A solution became eminent.

Starting with the existing design:

Tool

First, I cut out the SKID PLATE/Grass Plane:

Vehicle Plant Machine

Next, I drilled a 3/8" hole on each of the flanges and cut the joining shaft to fit between the flanges. The bottom of the roller would project 3/8" below the Skid Plate.

Wire Tool

Final assembly of the roller. 3/4" shaft, UHMWPE bearings, 1 1/2" Aluminium tubing, 3/8 hex head bolts.

Vehicle Tool Machine

Works great. Rolls over old scalps which will be reseeded.

See less See more
#2 ·
Can you give us a part list. I like the idea of this and it looks simple to do. Thanks. :good2:

#3 ·