• 3 Post By Super55

Thread: Need Some Input From Some Knowledgeable Deere Folks

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    08-17-2017 @ 02:10 PM
    Thanks

Need Some Input From Some Knowledgeable Deere Folks

Hey y'all,

This is my first time posting on an internet forum so please forgive me if I miss anything or leave out any of the usual pleasantries. I live in South Mississippi, and like everyone else down here, my family likes to hunt. Since before I've been born we've had a deer camp in our possession, and up until lately I haven't had much involvement in the preparation or maintenance of the land, I would just go down to hunt. Now that I'm a little more mature and more serious about the sport, I'd like to aid the adults down there wherever I can. We were gifted a sizable (in my opinion) John Deere tractor many years ago, and I don't know much about it. From what little information I was able to gather, I believe that it is an early '90s model JD 2555 (maybe, please correct me if I'm wrong) . The only reason I say that is because I made the drive the other day to pull the serial number for a little more info, (but I managed to grab the engine serial instead of the overall serial) and, after some research, figured that only the 2555 would have that specific engine model in it. This tractor has some issues, seeing as it only really saw attention in or around every September so that we could get ready for the season. Those who have driven it before (I have not) have told me that it needs two 5 gallon buckets of hydraulic fluid before starting to be able to move, or else the bucket won't lift off the ground, indicating to me that a seal or a hose somewhere has a pretty good leak in it. It also needs to be jumped off by another vehicle every time we go to use it, so that could be the batteries or an alternator, not real sure. It's been a while since she's been used and she has been sitting outside in the weather with an 8 foot disc attached for some time. What I'd like from y'