Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: 1962 2010 Row Crop dash gauges not working

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    05-24-2019 @ 09:19 AM
    Thanks

1962 2010 Row Crop dash gauges not working

Recently bought my first tractor ever, 1962 JD 2010. I've read all the bad mojo surrounding these tractors, but hey this one works just fine. My issue is the water temp gauge and the tachometer don't work like they're supposed to. The water temp gauge just stays cold all the time. The tachometer just bounces around near max RPM no matter the engine speed. I have no history with tractors so I'm a newbie. Looking for any quick troubleshooting pointers. Is this a common issue on older tractors?
    SulleyBear likes this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Yesterday @ 05:55 PM
    Thanks
    Welcome to GTT
    Temp gauge is a manual type with a capillary tube. Are you positive engine is getting up to operating temp? Have tried operating engine with radiator covered to aid getting coolant warmer? On tachometer needle bouncing I'll suggest to lubricate tach drive cable with white grease & if that doesn't help then the tach may require replacement which although not cheap is still available from JD.
    AR65445 Tachometer - ADD 285.13 USD
    DRobinson and SulleyBear like this.

4. Top | #3

Last Online
    Thanks
    Thanks Tx Jim, I believe the engine is up to temp. The hood and side shields are all on, and the air coming off the radiator is warm and seems to be at a normal temperature. I've read about gently taking a torch to the temperature sensor (very gently of course) to see if it will move. If not, replace the unit.

Yikes you're right the tach isn't cheap, though what is from deere? Where do i lubricate the tach cable? Just disconnect the end and apply lube there?

5. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

6. Top | #4
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 11:25 PM