e23 transmission

Thread: e23 transmission

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    01-17-2017 @ 07:04 PM
    Thanks

e23 transmission

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and to the world of tractors which I am finding fascinating.

I was wondering if anyone around had a John Deere with an e23 transmission. I work as an engineer in the transmission business, mainly for passenger vehicles and the other day I had the opportunity to drive a CASE tractor with a CVT transmission (don't know the model, sorry) and I started digging into how these transmissions work on tractors.

The question I have today is what happens when you are in Full Auto, select a start gear, let's say F13 but you set the target ground speed to something really small, like 0.5km/h. In theory, the tractor cannot drive at that speed in that gear unless the clutch slips so I am wondering if you get a warning or it just doesn't honour the target speed and the tractor just drives at the minimum speed for that gear. In the CASE, because the transmission is a CVT you don't have this problem so I am wondering how this is resolved in 'gear' transmissions.

I have many other questions but I thought I'd start with something easy

Thank you very much in advance!

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    11-04-2019 @ 09:20 PM
    Thanks
    I have never tried this, but I am pretty sure the tractor would not allow you to choose the higher start gear for such a low set speed. It would not allow the clutch to slip to achieve the slow speed. The set speed will override the start gear setting and choose correct gear for speed.

4. Top | #3

Last Online
    01-17-2017 @ 07:04 PM
    Thanks