Thread: Windows 7

1. Top | #1
    GTT's Pilot in Command (PIC) farmgirl19's Avatar
    Last Online
    @
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,149 Times in 751 Posts

Windows 7

I have been using Windows 7, for a few years now, and really have just begun to feel comfortable with it. I used XP for ages, and really liked it, but was forced by a computer crash to go kicking and screaming into 7, a couple of years ago.

Now that Windows 8 is out, and I'm sure more things will follow, and refurb. laptops with Win 7 on them are so cheap, I want to get another to have as a back up. Which brings me to my question....

I can get a unit with Win 7 Pro on it, for $20 more than Win 7 Home Premium. I have been using Home Premium. Is the Pro something I will need, or use? Will everything that runs on the Home Premium run on Pro? Is there any advantage to having Pro, since, at some point, I'll have to be dragged to another unit and system?

Forgive my lack of knowledge or talent in this venue. And yes, I am sure I could get used to Win 8, but not this week, when I can get a complete back up machine so cheaply. I have most of my stuff on a portable hard drive, so can just move it over, if everything is the same, or completely compatable. I found some things on portable hard drives did not transfer well for me from the XP to the Win 7.

Thanks for any insight. And remember, I am tech challenged, so use little words, and type slowly!

Edit; And yes, I even misspelled Windows in the subject. All of the lettering has come off of the keys on this laptop, and my typing stinks on a good day anyway.
    Last edited by farmgirl19; 12-27-2013 at 01:59 PM. Reason: no typing skills
    If man had enough horse sense to treat his wife like a Thoroughbred, she'd never grow into an old nag.

If you climb in the saddle, be ready for the ride!

Happiness is contagious; Be a carrier!

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    02-28-2019 @ 01:30 PM