Like Tree42Likes

Thread: New Technology - Cameras & Video

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 05:59 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,061 Times in 2,226 Posts

New Technology - Cameras & Video

I know I am really backwards with most new technology. Especially with cell phones and/or smart phones as there is no cell service where I live. However, I find myself using my iPad much more than my big beautiful PC anymore.

I've been a novice photographer most of my life - that was my main hobby until a couple years ago. Making a long story short, I simply lost interest in it and have slowly sold off all my pro type camera gear.

I left myself with a nice Fujifilm x30 camera which is a high end point and shoot. But.....it doesn't fit in my pocket.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0179.JPG 
Views:	13 
Size:	99.0 KB 
ID:	282378

It really is a great camera which gives me all the control I want except for having a long zoom.

Now spending more time on the web, I really enjoy seeing all the pics and videos eveyone shares here, on youtube, etc. And I am finding out it seems that most of these images and videos are shot with smart phones. After doing some research I see that the imaging and video capabilities have really come a long way.

I've been experimenting with my iPad. I think it is so nice that I can capture images and video, edit them, and upload them all from this one device. I like that.

So now - although I pick on most of you about having your "smart" phone with you 24/7, there is one aspect of this that I actually am envious of - that you have a camera with you all the time. This is huge in my opinion. While working with my photography hobby, I found that the quality of your gear is not as important than having a camera with you when an opportunity presents itself. I love all the snaps that you folks take during your daily travels - and this is possible because you always have that camera with you.