Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree63Likes

Thread: Another what tractor do I need?

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    07-02-2019 @ 11:04 PM
    Thanks

Another what tractor do I need?

Hi total newbie here been poking around the site for a min and went to the JD dealership today to get some info...

Guess here's were I start I purchased 2.5 acres and so did the in laws they don't want to do any work so more like 5 acres for me to deal with. I have an exmark zero turn only 46" deck to handle the around the house stuff. So realistically the fronts will be handled by the exmark but the back 40 as I am going to call it needs the tractor. It was farm land so the terrain is very rutted. There is a small area of brush and large trees that I would like to clean up and reclaim. The driveways are all rock and about 150 ft in length with culverts and small drainage ditch in the front near the road.

So went to JD dealer set on getting a 2025R with a loader, box blade, and bush hog. But the salesman pretty much said I was wasting my money on the R as the only upgrade is lights and the seat? And also advised I didn't get the box blade as most ppl just use the bucket for that? He advised I step up and just get the 3 series. Not trying to bash him as he was a nice guy just was hoping for some more knowledge so I could make a good decision.

My plans with the tractor are to maintain driveways, maintain culvert, bush hog the lets say 3.5 total acres behind the house, one day I would like to get a tiler and till and seed this area, I would like to add a grapple at some point to reclaim the brush area, I would love to have the backhoe attachment at some point but don't need any of this stuff to start.

I am wanting to get this by the end of April so I can use the 0%.

he quoted me as follows all with loader they have a $500 incentive on the 2 series and 1000 on the 3 series so maybe that why he pushed me that way?
    2025R ~18700
    2032R ~23700
    3025E ~20000
    3032E ~21800