OK...Ballast is a real thing....
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree202Likes

Thread: OK...Ballast is a real thing....

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 09:06 PM
    Thanks

OK...Ballast is a real thing....

I had 10 yards of black dirt that I had to move around as part of my yard rehab project. Yesterday, I noted that a full bucket of dirt made that 1023E really squirrely driving across the yard. So first thing this morning after I got home from work, I put the brand new ballast box (that I bought because everyone here on GTT kept talking about how important they are) on the iMatch and took it back to the corner where I have a nice pile of pea rock....shoveled it into the BB and the drove over to where my son had delivered the dirt. This was the maiden voyage of the ballast box. I confess...although I intellectually understood the concept of ballast on these tractors, I'm a total noob at tractors and I was shocked at the difference that that ballast made in the handling and the safety of that little 1023E. Today I moved about 7 yards if dirt and it went perfectly (and safely).

glc, etcallhome, Gizmo2 and 32 others like this.
    2019 John Deere 1023E SCUT with 120R FEL
    iMatch quick hitch Cat 3
    Titan 3-Point 2" Receiver Hitch
    Titan 42 inch Chinese pallet forks
    Titan Chinese Ballast Box
    Field Tuff FTF-60PSR3PT Pine Straw Rake, 3 Pt - modified for 2" receiver
    Ken's Bolt-On Grab Hooks
    Ratchet Rake

2. The Following User Says Thank You to MacCool For This Useful Post:

Gizmo2 (06-02-2019)

3. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

4. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 10:05 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,456 Times in 1,581 Posts
    YES someone finally listened to what we told them ....

Glad to hear , all is safe.

As you said using ballast makes a world of difference, plus it saves your tractor , and possibly you if tractor rolls on its side.
    Gizmo2, rtgt, OxPath and 11 others like this.