Like Tree197Likes

Thread: Replacing a kitchen countertop

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 05:54 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,061 Times in 2,226 Posts

Replacing a kitchen countertop

I am embarking on something that I have never done before. I know I can get some help from the vast knowledge within our membership here.

Our house is estimated to be around 80 years old. I think the addition was added in the 1950's at which time the kitchen was remodelded along with the floors etc. in the entire house.

The kitchen countertop is plywood with what I am guessing a formica sheet on top. It is trimmed with metal type edging and caulked. This is what is to be replaced.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0419.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	1.46 MB 
ID:	426082

The sink is double bowl cast iron and is 9" deep. We are reusing this as a direct replacement would be well over $600 and will not settle for a stainless steel sink. It is old enough that it is mounted with a Hudee ring (old timers should remember these).

Name:	IMG_0420.JPG 
Views:	98 
Size:	61.7 KB 
ID:	426090

I'm not sure if the ring will be reusable or not. Luckily I found a place that still makes them if need be -

S4 Sink Frame

--------------

This is a very low budget operation so am planning on buying the cheapest countertop I can find which is a laminate piece. Anything will look better than what we have now.

https://www.lowes.com/pd/VT-Dimensio...ertop/50240969

Name:	IMG_0421.JPG 
Views:	9 
Size:	249.5 KB 
ID:	426114

The cabinet was made in place and is an odd size. The length is 8'-7". I assume my only option is to buy a 10' top and cut it to size as these tops are available in 8' or 10' length.

My initial question before I even make any more plans - how easy (or hard) is it to cut a countertop like this? Are there special blades I would need if using a circular saw? I will have to make a straight end cut plus the cutout for the sink.
    Titleist1 likes this.
    ~Stan~