Cutting shadow / reveal lines in suspended ceiling tiles using router and table saw.
Like Tree11Likes
  • 8 Post By ultra7350
  • 2 Post By grandpajay
  • 1 Post By tj1

Thread: Cutting shadow / reveal lines in suspended ceiling tiles using router and table saw.

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    Today @ 04:33 PM
    Thanks

Cutting shadow / reveal lines in suspended ceiling tiles using router and table saw.

I'm just posting this because I didn't find anything by using Google search. Using a router to cut shadow lines in ceiling tile. I'm no pro at using a utility knife to cut the recessed lines in the tiles like the pros. I even tried Toolpro shadowline cutter TP05110 with no luck. I have the thicker tiles for sound transfer. So the set guide depth on the tool was not right for my tiles. So I will be returning the Toolpro with extra blades.
    So I decided to use my table saw to cut all the partial ceilings tiles around walls. Using a router table to cut the shadow lines works great for nice clean cuts. Yes it is going to create a lot of dust so you will want to do it outside. Safety glasses and dust mask will be a must. I learned to install the cut edges against the wall so I don't have to paint to match the tile. This is for my basement ceiling. I also have a walk out basement. So I don't need to go up/down stairs to make cuts.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_20181104_140324949.jpg  
    Last edited by ultra7350; 11-04-2018 at 02:32 PM.
    Kennyd, keane, tj1 and 5 others like this.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to ultra7350 For This Useful Post:

JD4044M (11-04-2018)

3. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

4. Top | #2

Last Online
    Today @ 07:49 PM
    Thanks
    I'll offer the suggestion to make a "sled" to protect the tile face. Not an issue if you are painting the tiles, anyway.
    keane and Fozsey like this.
    Jay