• 3 Post By rakane
  • 2 Post By rakane

Thread: Bucket Solutions Quick Attach Spade

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    Today @ 05:22 PM
    Thanks

Bucket Solutions Quick Attach Spade

I bought this quick attach spade to plant our 2 live Christmas trees. In the spring I'll have 10-20 rhody plants. I'm hoping this will make my life a bit easier.

I studied another system that requires a frame in place of the loader and also their root bucket. I didn't have the cash for that very expensive system.

I'm using the spade on my 1025R.

Today was dry so I took the occasion to try out a practice run. I've not yet decided exactly where to plant my tree so off toward the burn pile I went.

First I tried the spade on a significant boulder. I wanted to play around and see if I could move the rock. I managed to work the spade under the rock but my tractor doesn't have the power to lift it. On simply backing up though I could drag the rock as it sat on the spade. With limited places to put the rock I left it in the field to await a drier time.

I then went to try digging a hole. I angled the spade in an aggressive tilt and drove it in the ground using 4x4. I could see the placement of the spade on the ground just under the loader. The area I was digging was fill from a prior owner. It is difficult to dig with the loader, there are many foot sized rocks.

I dug a hole using small bites and a combination of pushing forward and curling. It was easy to get the spade deep enough where I had to back a bit to allow curling. I had a hole large enough for our trees in no time. At this spot there is no drainage and the hole immediately started to fill with water. The muck left on the spade speaks to my bad fill soil. But this is just a practice run, the trees will be planted on a drier spot.

For planting, this spade will do what I hoped. As to a number of French drains I need I think it would be better to rent a back hoe.