• 1 Post By rtgt

Thread: 485A Backhoe bucket & thumb options

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    12-12-2018 @ 04:10 PM
    Thanks

485A Backhoe bucket & thumb options

Backhoe novice here......

I think I am getting ready to make the plunge and buy a 485A backhoe for my 4044R. There are many options for buckets for this backhoe: 9", 12" 16", Heavy Duty 18", 20" & 24" and am trying to decide on what bucket to buy.

The standard bucket for this backhoe is the 12". I am leaning towards the Heavy Duty 18" for no particular reason other than it is 'heavy duty' and it only about $200 more than the standard bucket. My dealer does not know what makes this bucket 'heavy duty' and the info from JD is minimal (of course).

I am going to use this backhoe at a new place we are building - trenching for irrigation water and electrical conduit to the backyard & garden, remove a few stumps, dig hole for trees, help to build a 250' long berm along 1 side of the property to screen it from the country road, place landscape boulders, etc. The biggest use will be to dig a small fish pond for the wife - maybe 50' or so in diameter and about 8' deep.

Any thoughts on buckets?

Since I want to place/move landscape boulders I am planning on buying a thumb, however JD only offers a mechanical not hydraulic thumb for this. Don't know if anyone makes a hydraulic thumb for the 485A like they do for the smaller units. I assume a hydraulic thumb is much preferred, but is a mechanical thumb worthwhile?

Thanks for you help!

-steve
    rtgt likes this.
    2017 4044R Open Station, eHydro, iMatch, H180 MSL loader & R4's.
    Power Beyond (BLV10969), 3rd EH SCV (BLV10764),
    John Deere 485A Backhoe with HD 18" Bucket & mechanical thumb,
    Frontier AP12F 48" Pallet Forks, BB2072 Box Blade, RC2072 Rotary Cutter,
    PHD200 Post Hole Digger w/12" Auger, Titan Ballast Box, FIMCO 3pt Sprayer

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online