Like Tree38Likes

Thread: Grading 1-1/2" Crushed stone...which implement

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    06-25-2019 @ 08:01 PM
    Thanks

Grading 1-1/2" Crushed stone...which implement

Hi All,

I will be taking up a section of my lawn and putting in a parking pad for my Son's car. This will be next to my garage and come off my paved driveway, so it will be a 12' x 22' rectangle with a 12' x 21' right-triangle on the short end of the rectangle. I plan on using 1-1/2" crushed blue stone, probably at a depth of 6".

Will I be able to grade this with a rear scraper blade or will I need a box-blade with scarifiers? I will be buying whichever I need for this and will keep it for future needs.

I am not a total noob, I used to own a 4100 CUT and had a light duty rear scraper blade (sold it all 15 years ago, now I am slowly buying it all back ), which I had used only for grading dirt. So I have some idea of what I can do with a scraper, which is why I am questioning whether it would be effective on 1-1/2" crushed stone. I fear it might just ride over the stone, as 1-1/2" crushed stone packs together pretty well. However, I've never used a box blade before so I have no feel for what a box blade would do here.

Any and all thoughts, suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Thumper
    Robnik and PJR832 like this.
    2025R (Gen 1), 220 FEL with 53" bucket, Edge Tamers, Artillian 36" pallet forks, 72" County Line Rear Blade, 54" OnRamp MMM, 14bu MCS with powerflow, Ken's Bolt-On Hooks/Clevis combo, Heavy Hitch 2" receiver / double weight bracket, 16 suitcase weights.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Yesterday @ 03:36 PM
    Thanks
    The scarifiers won't do anything for the rock. You MIGHT need them to dig 6 inches down into your soil, but I'm not familiar with your soil,
    and you posted nothing about your soil conditions, so you'd have a better handle on that than I would.