Stump bucket for digging post holes?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree34Likes

Thread: Stump bucket for digging post holes?

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    09-26-2019 @ 05:30 PM
    Thanks

Stump bucket for digging post holes?

Has anyone tried using a stump bucket (like: Titan Attachmentsâ„¢ Stump Bucket | Fits John Deere | Yellow)
    for digging fence posts? The vides I've seen of little tractors using post hole diggers look tough.
    Was going to do some fence work this summer & the shovel & I aren't getting along.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 01:12 AM
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,700 Times in 1,287 Posts
    I think you have to ask yourself how many post holes you will be digging and is a one-shot and done job or will you have a continual need to be digging post holes.

I have no experience with the stump bucket but I don't think it would work very well for post holes as you would end up having to dig a very large diameter hole to get any depth for the post.

If you see a lot of post holes in your future then perhaps a tractor mounted unit would be warranted.

Have you considered renting a powered post hole digger? These can be rented for a very modest sum. Most require two people for ease of operation.

You can even BUY a 2-stroke post hole digger for around $200. The one shown below is from Amazon and comes with the augers shown. I'm sure it isn't commercial quality but for a one-time job it should be fine.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails post_digger2.jpg  
    2012 2720 -- 200CX Loader -- 54" Quick Attach Snow Blower -- Frontier LR5060 Rake -- Land Pride RB1660 Blade (Hydraulic Angle) -- Artillian 42" Forks -- Ken's Bolt on Grab Hooks -- Fit Rite Hydraulic top-link -- 2013 X500 for mowing duties

4. Top | #3
    Last Online
    11-10-2019 @ 07:02 AM
    Thanks