Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree74Likes

Thread: Ballast Box, type of fill?

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 12:01 PM
    Thanks

Ballast Box, type of fill?

In my 50 years of owning tractors, I've never owned a ballast box. Recently I was doing BB work in a couple of acres of trees then coming back with FEL to move the dirt. Some of the trees are fairly close together so I decided to remove the BB for clearance. I have wheel weights and filled tires on my 2305 but I still had a close call on some uneven ground with the bucket full.

Recently I purchased a JD Ballast Box with extension in very good condition on Craigslist. I'm going to place a couple of pvc pipes then fill the box. I'm studying the pros & cons of concrete vs. rock fill. I was leaning towards concrete however if a pipe were to get broken that might cause replacement problems. My only concern with rock fill is moisture buildup in the rock causing rust problems. My tractor is always stored in my shop however with heat buildup from being in the sun then stored inside there will likely be condensation forming in the rock. I suppose if using rock it would be best to drill drain holes in the box.

Any suggestions from members on either fill method?
    jdforever, SulleyBear and JD4044M like this.
    2305 with 200CX FEL, 62C MMM, Ken's Bolt On Hooks, modified HF Quick Hitch, turf & R4 tires. King Kutter XB Equipment; tiller, box blade, swivel blade, landscape rake & rotary cutter. SSAD 42" Forks, custom built Carry All & 8' Wagon. GrassHopper 725 D2, 2 Sears 42" Riders and way too much other equipment to list.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Yesterday @ 05:26 PM
    Thanks