Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree56Likes

Thread: Questions on trenching with a backhoe

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    @
    Thanks

Questions on trenching with a backhoe

I’m fairly new to operating a backhoe, but I am progressing well. Recently a neighbor with whom I am friends, and who helps me out from time to time (and vice versa) approached me with a request.

His parents have a broken water line. It was leaking up until today, but apparently it got worse and now the water is shut off. They need help quickly. I’m going up to look the job over in a few minutes. I think a trencher is the best tool for the job, but they are concerned about rocks. They want me to dig it with my backhoe.

Should that occur, I’m wondering about a bucket. I have a 12” bucket I bought with the thing. That’s way too big. I'm thinking since I’m helping them out, they might be willing to fork out for a bucket to make my life as well as theirs easier. I’ve looked at a couple real quick, but I have no idea on time frame for actually getting one.

So my question is, am I thinking in the right direction, and if so, what bucket would people recommend? It’ll be going on a 270B.

Thanks.
    Bill

2019 2038r, FEL, backhoe, ballast box, box scraper, Artillian grapple and forks, Woods chipper, Brand X 3 pt log splitter
    2016 Gator XUV 590i
    2011 X534 all wheel steer, 54” deck 47” snowblower

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    09-19-2019 @ 02:32 PM
    Thanks