Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree79Likes

Thread: Roto-tiller conversion

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    06-02-2017 @ 08:24 PM
    Thanks

Roto-tiller conversion

I was given a large front tine tiller by a family friend, but when I tried to use it last fall I found that it is nearly impossible to control. I'm only 160 pounds with my boots on and there simply wasn't enough of me to keep the darn thing in the ground. My wife was watching my attempts to control the tiller from the deck and after she was done laughing, she suggested that I just sell it and get a small plow and a 3pt cultivator for my M. I was very ready to go along with her idea until I came across a few videos on YouTube showing walk behind tillers converted to garden tractor attachments. I shouldn't be allowed on YouTube because it fuels most of crazy ideas. My little Sears already has a 3pt hitch, this tiller is only a little narrower than the rear tires, and I'm a professional fabricator with an overactive imagination.

I have a few ideas on how I want to do this, but rather than build something completely from scratch, I was wondering if anyone has attempted something similar and would like to share pictures or important lessons learned.

I have been told by my better half that I must "clean and organize the garage before starting another one of your crazy-a** science projects." So needless to say this project may be on hold for a little while which gives me some time to figure it all out. If there is enough interest, I would be willing to start a build thread in case someone else is contemplating something similar... or if the rest of you just want some comic relief. Apparently I'm good for that sort of thing.
    rtgt, Levi, BigJim55 and 3 others like this.
    '50 Model M w/electronic ignition, 12v conversion, and a 3pt conversion plus a homemade snowplow, a Deere Model 51 trailer plow, a Woods RM59 finish mower, a Bark Buster splitter, and a few other toys.