Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Best way to level a yard

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    09-12-2019 @ 01:08 PM
    Thanks

Best way to level a yard

Hello everyone. Newbie here just got my 1025R about a month ago and I'm loving it but it is my first tractor so still learning a lot. I've read a lot a great posts and garnered some great information from the forums but I haven't been able to find anyone with my exact issue.

I have 5 acres of land that were once used as a hay field, as a result the yard I now mow has a lot of ruts and makes for a very bumpy ride. I'm wondering if anyone has leveled a yard that is grass? I've seen quite a few posts on road leveling but not sure if it will work the same trying to level sod. I'm looking at back blades, box blades, land planers but still not sure if any of them would work to cut through the sod and level it out or if that is even worth trying. Just wondering if anyone has experience on such a project as my bumpy yard is negatively affecting my beer's carbonation

Thanks again for all the great info I've read through so far.
    andy b. likes this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    GTT's Pilot in Command (PIC) farmgirl19's Avatar
    Last Online
    @
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,149 Times in 751 Posts
    I can't help with your question, but wanted to say:

If man had enough horse sense to treat his wife like a Thoroughbred, she'd never grow into an old nag.

If you climb in the saddle, be ready for the ride!

Happiness is contagious; Be a carrier!

4. Top | #3
    Last Online
    10-08-2019 @ 05:04 AM
    Thanks
    Till the high spots and go over it with a land plane or box blade to fill in the low spots. It might be easiest to get a farmer to disc it up and replant the whole field. If you don't want to work the whole thing up filling in the low spots with top soil may work.
    Eric