• 1 Post By JimR
  • 1 Post By Old Cajun

Thread: 'Mater Monsters?

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:37 AM
    Thanks

'Mater Monsters?

Went to check my tomato plants yesterday morning, and noticed the top of one was missing and the leaves were on the ground. Hmmm...I thought. Must have been a hungry cut worm. Went down the row and found another, cut off about 2 inches from the ground, and the top, shredded, lying on the ground about 4 feet away. Now this was no cut worm. While puzzling over this mystery, a few feet away, I discovered a gourd from last year, lying on the ground, the neck chewed in two and most of the seeds eaten.

Now I have been raising tomatoes for 50 years or so, and have never seen anything like this. I have lost tomatoes to cut worms, gophers, and even squirrels will cut the green tomatoes when other pickings are slim. If this is a rabbit, it's a new M.O. for me. The only other thing it might be is a turkey, but I can't see them getting into a gourd with all the sunflower seed around. Turtles, to my knowledge, only eat the ripe tomatoes, and raccoons will eat a lot of things, but never seen one eat a green tomato plant. These plants are about a foot high and the stem is about as big around as my little finger.

I'm pretty sure it isn't a gopher, although we do have them, but they usually cut them off below the ground. I have wire cages around the bottom, so gophers can't get to the roots, and cages around the plant, so it would be very difficult for a dog or even a raccoon to do this. The ground was fairly wet, but no tracks. Any Sherlock Holmes fans out there?
    BigJim55 likes this.
    Have wings, will travel.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Today @ 03:03 PM
    Thanks
    The only critters I've had take entire plants down have been skunks. They seem more interested in the stalks then the fruit.