Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree21Likes

Thread: Wood splitter advice?

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    09-15-2019 @ 10:29 AM
    Thanks

Wood splitter advice?

Hey there.. I've been chopping wood for years now the ole' fashion way and will continue to do so.. I do enjoy it and its great exercise, but I gotta say.. Its get'n harder on the body each year.. In order to get after the volume of wood I need each winter (2 cords).. It really is time to get a splitter.. I've never used one before so I'm looking for some tips.. The diameter of many of the raw pieces are a good 24+ inches around.. What's the minimum hp/tonnage recommended for reasonable speed and the strength.. Any other "make sure it has this, or doesn't have that" features to keep in mind?.. Thanks!
    2014 1023E - R4 Tires - H120 Loader - Ballast Box - Forward lighting kit with Artillian horse blinders - 48" Ratchet Rake Snow Edge - 42" HLA Forks
    2017 Z540R - 54" High Capacity Deck - Forward Lighting & Mulch Kit - 60" Farm King Rear Snow Blower

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Today @ 05:59 AM
    Thanks

Only tried one

Quote Originally Posted by golf12 View Post
    Hey there.. I've been chopping wood for years now the ole' fashion way and will continue to do so.. I do enjoy it and its great exercise, but I gotta say.. Its get'n harder on the body each year.. In order to get after the volume of wood I need each winter (2 cords).. It really is time to get a splitter.. I've never used one before so I'm looking for some tips.. The diameter of many of the raw pieces are a good 24+ inches around.. What's the minimum hp/tonnage recommended for reasonable speed and the strength.. Any other "make sure it has this, or doesn't have that" features to keep in mind?.. Thanks!