Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree52Likes

Thread: Rockshaft Depth Stop help?

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    11-13-2019 @ 11:25 AM
    Thanks

Rockshaft Depth Stop help?

Newbie here 3046R w cab. Searched without success. What I think is correctly called the Rockshaft control lever (the one that raises and lowers the rotary cutter) has so much slop in it that the Rockshaft depth stop is pretty much useless. I leveled everything up, lowered the cutter to the height I wanted and set the stop at that height. Raised the cutter for transit then attempted to lower it to mow. When I pushed the lever down to the stop, the cutter barely moved. All I had done was take the "slack" out of the lever movement. I asked the salesman if there's a way to adjust the linkage connected to that lever and he said, "Not without taking the whole side off the tractor." I experimented with several different methods for guessing at the correct cutter height with two results...my right arm aches from jockeying the lever up and down and my grass height ranges from .01 inches to about a foot. There must be a better way! Suggestions? (Thanks in advance.)
    Herminator likes this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 07:39 PM
    Thanks
    I only consider the depth stop for the rock shaft as a gross indication of where the 3 point hitch will be on my 4720. My Kubota had a much better positive stop but even so the best way is to look at the implement. For shredding I look at the deck’s rear wheel when lowering, when the wheel touches ground I lower it a bit more and off I go. Having said that, I also have some slop in the linkage