Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By H-D dealer dude

Thread: X300 engine Rev Up problem

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    12-19-2017 @ 09:21 PM
    Thanks

X300 engine Rev Up problem

Hello all, I'm a Newbie here and could use some help / advise or suggestions.
    I have a 2009 JD X300 38" deck lawn tractor/mower.
    Last year it started having this problem where the motor would not rev up all the way after I stopped to empty the grass clipping bags. It would eventually rev up to full speed and would run as normal but started taking longer to get back to normal speed as I kept mowing. This year it just does not rev all the way up to normal speed at all. it smells like the engine is running rich. I just changed oil, oil filter, plugs, air filters, greased fittings added a little Startron to new gas but problem still exists. I'm hoping this is common enough that others may have experienced this and might have suggestions. Thanks for any help...

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 07:45 AM
    Thanks
    Sounds like you have a cylinder that isnt firing. While running remove each plug wire to identify the culprit.

Sent from my LGL52VL using Tapatalk

4. Top | #3

Last Online
    Yesterday @ 07:38 PM
    Thanks
    Have you examined your governor linkage to make sure it strokes freely and the spring or springs are not missing or worn out?
    1025R FILB, vintage: 2015
    54D MM mowing deck
    Imatch hitch
    2 inch receiver for three point
    "18" cart
    Piranha Tooth Bar
    Ken's hooks and differential lock pedal
    Artillian 36" forks
    Stihl equipment: Saws; MS261C, MS462C, MS661RCM and Blower; BR600 and Trimmer; FS70R and Hedge Cutter; HL 56K and Pressure Washer; RB400
    Husky log splitter

5. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

6. Top | #4

Last Online
    Thanks
    xcopterdoc,
    Tested as you suggested: