Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: JD X495 considering putchase

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    Yesterday @ 07:03 AM
    Thanks

JD X495 considering putchase

I am seeking advice. I am not a mechanic and have never owner or operated a diesel anything. I am contemplating purchase of a 514 hour 2002 X495 but it is 4.5 hour trip one way. Asking price is $3750. Hood is missing the middle piece on the bottom and the mid mount pto shaft, the round collar at the end of the shaft has 3 ball bearings that sit in the groove of the pto shaft and keep it attached. When u pull back on the collar the ball bearings are supposed to release and free the driveshaft. One of them is stuck and won't let the driveshaft free. I assume these will not be to expensive to fix. My main concern is what do I look for? I have read about radiator screens plugged and overheating and the deck pto not engaging. Not sure yet if the dash all functions. Not knowing much about the tractor or diesel's, etc I really would appreciate any and all advice. Feel free to pm and I will share pics,ad and correspondence. Thanks, Paul

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:48 AM
    Thanks
    I really liked my 2004 X495 and it had over 2500 hours on it when I sold the large property we used to have. I bought the tractor used from a local cemetery and it had a lot of hours already. The 24 HP Yanmar diesel is really robust and never gave me any trouble, always started easily and was smooth and powerful.

The shaft to the mowing deck is a bit tricky to release, but the one issue you describe should be an easy fix/adjustment/lube. Does the tractor have the 62 inch deck or a smaller one? What other attachments does it have.