Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: STX38 Died While Mowing

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    07-29-2019 @ 07:10 AM
    Thanks

STX38 Died While Mowing

I'm going to start off the post by stating I am a complete beginner when it comes to mechanical work. I was mowing my yard with my STX 38 and half way through mowing I noticed the mower going slower 1&3 gear went the same speed. I continued to mow and a few minutes later the mower died. I was able to get it turned on, but when I turned on the blades the mower died again. Any suggestions?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 06:33 PM
    Thanks
    Hopefully you drove it back into an area where you can work on it. First thing sounds like the PTO has a problem and is pulling the voltage down far enough to stop the engine. So you will want to check the resistance of the coil, most are in the 3.8 to 4.5 ohms. If the coil is burned up it can cause damage to the bearing that is in it. So address that first.

Then we will need to check the charging system (stator and VR) and battery. The battery should be taken to an auto store that can load test and charge test it for damage. The VR needs to put out 13.8 to 14.3 Volts DC with a full load on it (Lights on, PTO on, charging battery, supplying power for the ignition system, etc).

Finally, what caused the problem in the PTO coil, Did it seem to run hot? Was it hard starting after dieing, Could you hear like hiss of fluid boiling?

Engines get hot when they are running lean, this is caused by carb problems, leaking intake manifold, valves out of adjustment, carbon build up in the valves causing leakage.

4. Top | #3

Last Online
    Thanks