• 1 Post By H-D dealer dude

Thread: General basic questions about how to use the choke

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    07-02-2017 @ 05:35 PM
    Thanks

Question General basic questions about how to use the choke

Hi guys,

I've posted here a few times with random questions but I am still quite new to small engine machines. My John Deere LA115 has a choke lever and I wanted to ask if it was normal that, when on warm/hot days, I don't need to push the lever all the way up (which I believe is closed?). I know as the engine warms up, you have to open the choke and I wanted to ask if it was normal that when the weather is warm that the choke doesn't have to be all the way closed to start.

My snowblower seems similar, it has a dial for the choke and I find that lately when I go to test it out (I periodically run it to make sure it works even in the summer), I need the choke mostly open for it to start.
    JD322 likes this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 05:16 AM
    Thanks
    Once it's warm it shouldn't need choke to start,however depending on the fuel system you may need to choke to prime the fuel system to start.
    Tom

2019 X590 with power mulch control and PF bagger
    30" mechanical tiller
    02 X595 with 62" deck,front thatcher and powerflow PTO kit
    3pt hitch with Heavy Hitch 45 JD loader
    12 JD suitcase weights
    JD/Brinly 3pt plow
    Frontier SS1036 3pt pto spreader
    (2) JS63C walk behind mowers
    TS 105 JD weed wacker
    tow behind 15 gal. sprayer
    Turftime 60" lawn roller
    Turftime 54" 3pt core aerator

4. Top | #3
    Last Online
    Today @ 11:59 AM
    Thanks
    Some engines will require choke and some won't even to start when warm/ hot. Easy test when warm... Try to start.. If it doesn't start right away.. Keep cranking and choke. Should fire up.. Then lever down to take off choke.