Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: JD L120 Not Starting

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    05-13-2018 @ 03:07 PM
    Thanks

JD L120 Not Starting

My inherited John Deere L120 with the 20hp Briggs engine. In the past year, it's always been a pain in the rear to get it started. Wasn't maintained real well previously. Started up fine last week, but when I went to mow yesterday I got nothing. A couple of clicks and lights coming on were all I got. I was able to jump it and get her moving, but couldn't start on her own. From what I've seen ppl say it could be the solenoid or maybe it's shorting somewhere. I'm brand new to trying to fix this stuff, would an amateur be able to install a new solenoid without blowing the damn thing up? Anything else I can do to try and diagnose?

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Today @ 08:42 AM
    Thanks
    It is much more likely that you simply have a bad battery. If it is the original battery it is well past it's expected life. I had to replace the battery in my D160 earlier this summer due to the exact same symptoms you described. If you can jump it and it starts, the solenoid is fine.
    D160 Mower/Bagger.
    2014 2032R tractor/H130 FEL w/Bolt-On Hooks/54" Snow Plow/iMatch Quick-Hitch/County Line 5' Scraper blade/County Line Carry-All/Artillian 42" Forks & QH Adapter/JD Ballast Box/Frontier SB1164 3PH Blower/Leinbach PHD/Wallenstien BX42 Chipper

4. The Following User Says Thank You to JimR For This Useful Post:

ChickenMan (07-06-2017)

5. Top | #3

Last Online
    Yesterday @ 07:05 PM
    Thanks
    I had to replace the battery in my '04 L130 too, new one cranks so much better now.
    2004-L130