Hydro 165 Not Starting

Thread: Hydro 165 Not Starting

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    08-27-2014 @ 04:52 PM
    Thanks

Hydro 165 Not Starting

Hey all. Having some problems, hoping someone could help me out.

I picked up an older Hydro 165 last summer. I used it last year. It always started like a champ. I was deployed for the last 6 months, so it sat in my garage the entire time. Having trouble getting it started now. I changed out the battery, thinking that was the problem, but no luck. What could be some sources of problems from it sitting around?

I am also wondering if it it getting fuel to the engine. I have attached a pic of the fuel line/filter to see if it helps. Should this filter container be full of fuel? It doesn't appear that the fuel is flowing all the way thru to the engine. But I am no mechanic, so I am not sure.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG1656.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	998.8 KB 
ID:	31658

I also have this problem (once it gets started) that happens once I try to actually mow. Last summer once it was started and I lower the deck and switch the blades on, once I get moving, the mower would stall out. Any ideas what would cause that?

Thanks in advance!

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Keeper of the GTT Cookies dieselshadow's Avatar
    Last Online
    Today @ 01:49 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,252 Times in 2,560 Posts
    A fuel filter not being full isn't uncommon, but don't worry about it. It's normal to see that on a running tractor.

Pull your spark plug, leaving it plugged into the wire, lean it against the head and have someone try to start the engine. you should see a big fat blue spark. No spark, well that's a different line of troubleshooting.