Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree74Likes

Thread: Rat nest on my engine... literally

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    03-26-2018 @ 09:51 PM
    Thanks

Rat nest on my engine... literally

Hi forum, newbie here with an interesting problem.

D140, 2015 model with a Briggs & Stratton. Tractor was last run in October--most of the fuel was used up at the time, and it was stored in a shed until March.

Before starting it in the spring, I typically clean it up and change the oil. Boy am I glad I did--RATS got into the engine bay and built a nest in there. Not mice, but rats. Once I had the black shroud off, you couldn't even see any cooling fins, it was that bad.

On top of the filth they filled up the insides with, they chewed up the right-hand coil/armature and spark plug wire. I used three cans of brake cleaner and an air compressor to clean the filth out. I then replaced the coil/armature with one from the dealer,following the instructions about spacing it from the flywheel. And I did my usual oil change.

The engine cranks and cranks and cranks, but it doesn't fire.

Some notes:

- It's a relatively new mower with only light use
    - Battery and starter appear to be in good shape.
    - Tank has fresh gas.
    - Plug from new coil has spark (though it looked red/orange).
    - Fuel flow to carb is good--if I disconnect the fuel line exiting the fuel pump, it squirts as the engine cranks.
    - I haven't messed with the carb--it and the air intake appeared to be the one place the rats didn't mess with.
    - In addition to the fuel line, there's a vapor line connecting the gas tank with the left side of the engine. The tube is clear, but it seems blocked at the gas tank if I try to blow from the engine side.

Questions:

1. Should the vapor line be clear into the gas tank? I want to make sure there's not some valve I might damage if I hit it with compressed air. I don't even know what it does.