Looking for 445 engine expert

Thread: Looking for 445 engine expert

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    12-04-2014 @ 02:20 PM
    Thanks

Looking for 445 engine expert

In process of installing head gaskets on 445, I need to verify a couple of things before I buttoned the motor up.

#1 do you need to put anything on heads to seal head gasket?
    #2 what are the steps for adjusting valves on the v twin 22 hp

Thanks
    Kevin

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    03-05-2019 @ 06:53 AM
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by 445 jdeere View Post
    In process of installing head gaskets on 445, I need to verify a couple of things before I buttoned the motor up.

#1 do you need to put anything on heads to seal head gasket?
    #2 what are the steps for adjusting valves on the v twin 22 hp

Thanks
    Kevin
    Hi Kevin,

I've been a professional engine builder for many years. Generally you do not put anything on a head gasket. They seal themselves without the need for chemicals. In some cases chemicals will actually cause a problem with sealing. Make sure you get a razor blade and scrape the block and head surface where the head gasket will seal and get it as clean as you possibly can. Then wipe the surfaces with some carb cleaner or some other similar cleaner.