• 3 Post By JimR
  • 1 Post By Drifterbike

Thread: Help! Blades won't run

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    05-24-2018 @ 05:24 AM
    Thanks

Help! Blades won't run

I have an S240. A few weeks ago, I was cutting the grass and hit a pine root and it stopped the mower cold. The blades ran rough for a few minutes and then settled down. I cut the llawn two more times without issues. This past Sat., I cut the lawn for about an hour. The deck shuddered hard and the blades stopped working. Once it cooled down, the blades will engage (rough) and run for a few seconds before they stop again. Is the PTO ruined? Is is something on the deck? What do I need to look for? I am a LOUSY mechanic, but it is going to be weeks before I can get someone to look at it. ANY and ALL good advice will be appreciated!!! THANKS!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Yesterday @ 08:57 PM
    Thanks
    Well.... The good news is that your mower deck is driven by a belt. My *GUESS* is that you probably bent a blade and possibly a spindle. Those would explain the mower deck being "rough". If you bent one, it's out of balance.

The simplest starting point would be to remove the mower deck from the machine, flip it up and take a look at those blades. Once it's off you can also rotate the blades by hand and get a feel if the spindle is hanging up/bent.
    Gizmo2, Drifterbike and PJR832 like this.
    D160 Mower/Bagger.
    2014 2032R tractor/H130 FEL w/Bolt-On Hooks/54" Snow Plow/iMatch Quick-Hitch/County Line 5' Scraper blade/County Line Carry-All/Artillian 42" Forks & QH Adapter/JD Ballast Box/Frontier SB1164 3PH Blower/Leinbach PHD/Wallenstien BX42 Chipper

4. The Following User Says Thank You to JimR For This Useful Post:

Harris (05-23-2018)

5. Top | #3

Last Online
    Thanks
    Thanks! Will take the deck off tomorrow.

6. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

7. Top | #4
    Last Online