Like Tree24Likes

Thread: X300 PTO and 44" snow blower Problem

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    04-23-2015 @ 02:06 PM
    Thanks

Question X300 PTO and 44" snow blower Problem

Goodday all,

Isn't it always the way? New folks show up (like me) on the forum, and their first post (like mine) is always a problem they're having with their XXXX tractor, and the XXX belt or the XYZ attachment.

I'll try to break part of that mold...at least I'll introduce myself first!

Hi, my nickname is Navyshooter, it's been 2 hours since I last turned a wrench on my X300....oh, wrong meeting.

Anyhow, introduction...I live in the Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, area, (just outside town), am a sailor in the Royal Canadian Navy, about half-way through my 23rd year of service. By trade, I'm an Electronics Technician (SONAR) but 2 years ago they promoted me away from the toolbox and into a keyboard (and probably a case of Carpal Tunnel...LOL) I have a background with machining, and have a basic lathe/mill that are currently awaiting re-assembly in my garage/shop, pending another shore posting so I have some time! I'm currently crew on a frigate, and about to head off to sea for Work-Ups this coming week.

What do I have?

I bought a brand-new X-300 with 42" deck and got the 44" snowblower as well.

They delivered it all for me, and I pieced it together. Mower worked fine.

I put on the snow-blower, but made a mistake in assembly, and put the v-belt in backwards, so the flat was into the "v"....so that demolished the belt, and last week it started hopping off the pulleys and gumming up. There was little shards of rubber everywhere.

I got a replacement belt, (not OEM, they had no stock!) but the replacement seems to fit....except that it keeps hopping off the PTO pulley.

I don't know what's wrong, I've got a mountain of snow in the driveway (more coming on Tuesday) and I want to try and fix this before I head to sea on Tuesday!