Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree30Likes

Thread: JD X495 intermittent overheating

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    08-07-2019 @ 07:56 AM
    Thanks

JD X495 intermittent overheating

Greetings all, I'm new to GTT - my 1st post.
    Wondering if I can get some advise on an issue with my 2005 x495.

Symptom:
    After cold start, and running for a random amount of time (anywhere between 15-45 min.) the temperature gauge will suddenly go from normal (about 1/4 up from cold position) to past the red (about as far as the needle will move). This happens in about 5-6 seconds.
    To cure this, I shut down and let the machine rest for about 5 minutes. I then start up again, and the gauge returns to normal operating temperature. It may randomly repeat this again.

This problem appeared for the 1st time after I pulled the machine out this spring (May, 2019) to start mowing. ( I don't use it during the winter, it's just stored in my garage).

I'm not sure if the engine is actually overheating or not, so when it happens I shut down, and continue on a few minutes later. (bit of a pain, but I don't want to damage the engine).

Could this be a rad cap, thermostat, temperature sensor, or coolant pump problem? Any advise is appreciated!

Side note: I use this machine strictly for mowing; I have no other attachments for it other than the 54" deck. About 650 hrs on the machine right now.

Jack
    '05 JD X495; 54" 7-iron mower deck
    2014 JD 1025R TLB; quick-attach 54" deck; pallet forks; 48" box blade
    1959 Massey Ferguson FE35 Diesel Deluxe

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    glc
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 01:36 PM
    Thanks
    SulleyBear likes this.
    Greg from western pa

2009 2520
    FEL/61" HD bucket/replaceable cutting edge
    62D2 MMM
    IMatch Quick Hitch
    A "REAL" snow blade ---- JD 380A modded to fit
    Homemade 3PT Receiver
    Homemade Ballast Box
    Woods GB65 Box Blade