• 1 Post By jjoyce1
  • 4 Post By jjoyce1

Thread: Question about D125 steering issue

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    09-24-2019 @ 09:35 PM
    Thanks

Question about D125 steering issue

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I have a D125 riding mower with only about 70 hours on it. Won't turn right, sector plate pops, but will turn left just fine. I'm just not sure if a worn sector plate and/or pinion gear is the culprit. When I turn left, the sector plate seems to ride up the pinion gear and get a good bite. When I put the wheel to the right, the opposite happens, seems like the sector plate drops down the pinion and loses good bite. There's a whole lot of untouched pinion length as well that I wish I could put to use. I'm wondering if the geometry/setup of the whole system is correct, before I send it in for service. I don't have the means to fix myself. Below is a quick 30 second video of how the sector plate behaves when turning left vs. right while stopped.

https://youtu.be/39jORpUdCdA

If the answer is take it in for new pinion/plate, fine so be it, I just want to make sure I'm not missing something more obvious and/or inexpensive.

JAJ

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 07:06 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,668 Times in 1,263 Posts
    Welcome. The video is very helpful. It doesn't seem like the sector plate should have that much up-down play. Is it possible the retaining bolt/nut is loose? I've highlighted the suspect bolt/nut below. I would also check bolt #22.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails D125_STEER.jpg  
    2012 2720 -- 200CX Loader -- 54" Quick Attach Snow Blower -- Frontier LR5060 Rake -- Land Pride RB1660 Blade (Hydraulic Angle) -- Artillian 42" Forks -- Ken's Bolt on Grab Hooks -- Fit Rite Hydraulic top-link -- 2013 X500 for mowing duties

4. The Following User Says Thank You to jgayman For This Useful Post:

jjoyce1 (09-16-2019)

5. Top | #3

Last Online