Stumped, John Deere 180 lawn tractor won't start

Thread: Stumped, John Deere 180 lawn tractor won't start

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    01-28-2019 @ 03:18 PM
    Thanks

Question Stumped, John Deere 180 lawn tractor won't start

I bought this lawn tractor (for a great price) off my parents neighbor, he couldn't get it going. I'm a pretty good backyard mechanic, I've rebuilt car engines, Atv's, snowmobiles, and lots of small engines. But this one has me stumped... I've read many forums and tried everything I've found. So here it is...

last owner had new ignitor, new coil, new plug, new fuel pump installed, and had the carb cleaned. I've talked to the dealer he says that engine is bullet-proof. I checked the compression, was getting about 60-70 psi, dealer says that's cause of a decompresser, and suggested the ignitor, I installed a new ignitor, it started backfiring flaming out the carb. I then checked the valve lash, tuned them to .006 mm, and same result when I tried to start it, checked the flywheel key, it's good, cleaned the carb myself, tried many different adjustments, all with the same result, flames comming out the carb. I took the head off, looked like the head gasket was gone, so ordered a new one, lapped the valves while I had it out, re-assembled it and still backfiring flames out the carb. what did I miss? is there a timing adjustment for the valves? what is the gap for the coil? could that cause it? I forget what I set it to. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Oh the engine is the Kawasaki FC540-ASOO.

Thanks hotelcali

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    glc
    Last Online
    Yesterday @ 08:45 PM
    Thanks
    Hi hotelcali and

If the coil air gap is too big,that could cause it to backfire through carb. Not positive,but it shouldn't be any more than .015".
    Sorry,but I'm not very familiar with Kaw's. Hopefully someone here is and can be more definite.

Greg