What's the best method for welding thin material to thick material?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree78Likes

Thread: What's the best method for welding thin material to thick material?

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    Today @ 06:58 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,595 Times in 1,213 Posts

What's the best method for welding thin material to thick material?

I've been meaning to ask this for a while. What is the best technique for welding thin steel to thick steel?

I have a 120V Hobart Handler 140 MIG (flux core) machine and a 250A DC stick welder but I tend to use the stick machine more often. I am completely self taught and do "ok" but needless to say I am a much better grinder than I am a welder. :-)

I always struggle when I have to join a thin piece of steel to a thicker piece of steel. If I set the amperage to get good penetration on the thick material then it wants to burn through the thin material. If I use lower amperage so I don't burn through the thin material then I don't get good penetration on the thicker material.

Any words on wisdom?
    mjncad likes this.
    2012 2720 -- 200CX Loader -- 54" Quick Attach Snow Blower -- Frontier LR5060 Rake -- Land Pride RB1660 Blade (Hydraulic Angle) -- Artillian 42" Forks -- Ken's Bolt on Grab Hooks -- Fit Rite Hydraulic top-link -- 2013 X500 for mowing duties

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Keeper of the GTT Cookies dieselshadow's Avatar
    Last Online
    Today @ 03:21 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,286 Times in 2,579 Posts
    Your weld is only as strong at the weakest piece of steel. So you weld for the thickness of the thinner material and that’s the best that joint can be.

You can always add a doubler or even a gusset to add strength if needed.
    mjncad, etcallhome, Gizmo2 and 4 others like this.
    - Jason

GreenTractorTalk.com Rules, Policies, and Terms of Use

Subscribe to dieselshadowman on YouTube

2720 w/ 200CX FEL