Green Tractor Talk banner

My ballast box

9K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  andy b. 
#1 · (Edited)
This post is a little late being I did this in the autumn of 2009 before I took delivery of my 2520. It's on other forums,so it's only fair that I put it here also. I'm by no means a pro,but when you have just about everything needed at your disposal,things can turn out pretty decent sometimes. I wasn't able to do step by step of the construction,as this was done at work,mostly on my own time.

Here are a few pics of my box before paint. I was planning to rattle can it the way it was,but a friend and coworker who knows bodywork offered to "mud" up the inperfections and spray it for me. I thought,"it's only a ballast box",but if he wants to do that for me,I'm all for it. So I went to the JD dealer and bought a quart of paint, gallon of thinner and a pint of hardener.....70.00 Paint wasn't bad,the hardener cost the most......40.00!! Enough for a gallon though.

I made the box out of 1/2"x12" cold rolled plate that we had leftover from a job. The price was very right............FREE! Actually,so was everything else. I guess we,as employees are pretty lucky because as long as our "government jobs" aren't too demanding we can pretty much use anything.

The box tubing is 1-1/2 square with 1/4" wall. The pipes are 2" schedule 40. There are 7/8" drain holes under each pipe. The 2" is fine for holding eveything except my axe. The pieces of angle are 3"x3"x1/2". I had to cut 1" off the front so it would be flush with the front edge.The box measures 24" wide,18" deep,and 24" high. The box weighs 380lbs......empty!