• 6 Post By briansims
  • 2 Post By Blkrvrbart

Thread: I need an engineer!

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    06-02-2017 @ 07:24 PM
    Thanks

I need an engineer!

I'm a welder... This means that I have a tendency to grossly overbuild everything. For once I want to build something properly.

I need to come up with a better solution for storing my truck camper when it is off my truck. Right now I am using a stack of long sheet metal pallets. They were free to procure, and they do work well, but they are extremely difficult to work with because they are very heavy. I need to come up with something easier to work with. I have been contemplating building a pair of steel saw-horses 36" tall. The extra height is so I'll only have to lift the camper an inch or two in order to gain enough altitude to clear the back edge of the truck's bed. My jacks are all manually operated and it is a lot of work just to lift the camper half a foot.

I guess what I am looking for is advice on materials. Left unsupervised, I will end up building the horses out of 1/4" wall 2x4 box tube. Even I know that is overkill.

Camper weighs 1400# empty. Probably less than 2000# loaded.
    Saw-horse height overall needs to be 36" and total span needs to be 50" wide.

Thanks in advance for your help!
    pcabe5 and BigJim55 like this.
    '50 Model M w/electronic ignition, 12v conversion, and a 3pt conversion plus a homemade snowplow, a Deere Model 51 trailer plow, a Woods RM59 finish mower, a Bark Buster splitter, and a few other toys.
    '69 Sears Suburban 14 48" deck and 42" back blade, an estate rake, and a sweeper.
    '07 F250 XL Powerstroke, crew cab, short box, 4x4.
    '85 F150... I finally sold my very first truck after racking up over half-a-million miles on the original drivetrain.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Keeper of the GTT Cookies dieselshadow's Avatar
    Last Online
    Today @ 06:52 AM
    Thanks