Like Tree48Likes

Thread: Possibly a new Owner

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    07-15-2017 @ 11:24 PM
    Thanks

Possibly a new Owner

Good morning Ladies and Gentlemen,

My name is Jason Gadsby, I am a retired Soldier/Disabled Veteran living in Texas. I am not an owner as of yet, but am hoping to be one soon after hearing the thoughts from all you experts out there. My Father in Law is selling his 97ish GT235 ride on. He is selling it fairly cheap because it needs some work. It does run, albeit a little rough as he has left it out doors for quite some time. The plastics will all need replacing, as well as the seat. There isnt really any rust to be spoken of, but I would be painting it again just to have a fresh tractor. I am experienced mechanically, having been a mechanic in the Army for 13 years. I can also paint, weld, etc etc. So my question to you all is, is it worth saving? The cost is around $250, and then the parts needed to fix her up like new. I am on a small lot now, but my wife and I are about to buy a 2 acre lot near Lake Whitney and will need a tractor. I am glad to be here, and even assuming you all tell me I am dumb and just buy a new one, it will still be green and yellow Thank you all and please dont pull any punches!
    Gizmo2, Levi, gbnpp05 and 1 others like this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 06:47 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,288 Times in 1,417 Posts
    Welcome from northeastern Pennsylvania.

Thanks for being a Soldier.

Before jumping into the "body work", you may want to check on prices of the plastic and/or fiberglass pieces that you need. Most of them are expensive. Most of the mechanical parts aren't bad and some can be obtained from other sources.
    etcallhome, Gizmo2, Levi and 2 others like this.
    Don

2320, 54D MMM, 200CX FEL, 54 Front Blade with Artillian Extensions, Omni Transformer Hitch
    445, 54 mower and 54 front blade