• 1 Post By Tx Jim
  • 1 Post By 56FordGuy

Thread: Montana 3240 transmission disaster

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    03-01-2019 @ 08:10 PM
    Thanks

Montana 3240 transmission disaster

My neighbor has a Montana 3240 with PTO issues. He was brush cutting his field and the pto suddenly stopped working. Now when engaging the pto (with no implement on) the pto shaft spins but with a horrible grinding noise. Obviously there are internals that have failed but my question is should I dig into this thing myself? I have been a dealership tech for over 20 years and have overhauled numerous transmissions, engines and axles but this whole tractor transmission/pto/hydraulic mystery box is just that, a mystery. I was never a big fan of this Montana tractor from the day he bought it. Seems really cheap and it only has 300 hours. Has anyone every overhauled a tractor tranny? Should I just swallow my pride and tell him to take it to a tractor service garage? What are your thoughts? I do have a service manual but the translation from Korean to English is horrible and it just makes things a little more difficult.
    2011 1026R 54"MMM, D120 loader w/snowbucket and bucket quick attach conversion, 5' bush hog, middlebuster, 260 backhoe
    Remember: Too tight is two pieces

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Today @ 10:13 PM
    Thanks
    The Montana tractors were built by LS. Pretty much the same machines as the FarmTrac.

I'd be leary of not being able to get it back together after I got it apart.
    D160 Mower/Bagger.
    2014 2032R tractor/H130 FEL w/Bolt-On Hooks/54" Snow Plow/iMatch Quick-Hitch/County Line 5' Scraper blade/County Line Carry-All/Artillian 42" Forks & QH Adapter/JD Ballast Box/Frontier SB1164 3PH Blower/Leinbach PHD/Wallenstien BX42 Chipper

4. Top | #3
    Last Online
    03-01-2019 @ 08:10 PM
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by JimR View Post