Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree21Likes

Thread: Drones

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    07-30-2019 @ 05:58 PM
    Thanks

Drones

After seeing several TV shows showing drones being used on the farm and how aerial views can be had. I started to investigate these thing. I did a lot of reading and most everyone said buy a decent toy and learn to fly before investing a lot of money in a bigger heavier one. I listened and bought a toy. I am glad I did because these dang things are hard to learn to fly well. I bought a quad motor unit that has a cheap $20 camera with it. It does not fly well in the wind. I actually had the wind take mine for a ride when I got it up too high and into wind currents. I thought I had lost it but when I knew I had no control I shut it down and it landed about 1/4 mile away on the side of the road. I had looked in the brush for 45 minutes. I walked out to the road and there it was.

I am still learning to fly this thing. The hard part for me is when it gets turned around and my controls need to be reversed to fly it. My problem is I can't see it well enough to tell front from rear. I have only had it about a month and between rain and wind I am slowly getting more flight time.

I might be dreaming but I have visions of checking fences for downed trees and water tanks in the future. Some units have FPV, First Person View, piloting your heli or plane via the use of a forward facing camera using the view from the camera as if you were sitting in the vehicle. If I become a good enough pilot I can combine play with work.
    sterling40man and farmgirl19 like this.
    Don't squat with your spurs on!
    JD 5065E, JD 737 Z-Turn, Can Am XT1000, Massey 271, Massey 451, Vermeer Baler, Various other tools.

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    05-14-2019 @ 07:05 AM
    Thanks