Wiring Problem
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Like Tree33Likes

Thread: Wiring Problem

  1. Top | #1
    etcallhome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Last Online
    Today @ 07:29 AM
    Location
    Preston County WV
    Posts
    13,513
    Thanks
    3,303
    Thanked 2,505 Times in 1,614 Posts

    Wiring Problem

    DA ---Senior moment something...not sure.

    On the cab of the 1025r have 2 LED lights plus connected to those are two flashing lights on the back of the cab.. Ok they have been working fine since installed , using a 3 post toggle switch connected to a 4 terminal 40amp relay.

    Today instead of buying a 3 post lighted toggle switch, bought a 2 post toggle switch ,, simple on and off metal switch.

    Before doing anything after pulling the wires off the toggle switch , I had power on my R wire going to the toggle switch moved that wire to the new toggle switch , moved the wire that is connected to local ground to the other terminal of new toggle switch.. NOTHING no lights.

    I measured 12.5-13vdc at relay, at red wire inside cab 9-10v.

    Do I need to just remove the relay , remove a wire on the relay WHAT Have no idea. Just know lights aren't working..

    Thanks in advance for any and all help.
    pcabe5 likes this.
    Gene

    Have fun and be safe !!!
    USAR 8yr 8 mo SSG 99th ARCOM
    JD 1025R, H120 FEL 54" bucket, 54" mmm Auto Conn, 54" Front blade, JD back hoe ,JD IMatch, 48" Bush Hog tiller, Middlebuster from MF dealer, used King Kutter 5' rear blade, a new 47" JD Front blower and Original Tractor cab w/heater.
    We have a Red Honda Pioneer 700-4 (4 seater) w/soft top , doors, and winch.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. Top | #2
    coaltrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Last Online
    Today @ 07:27 AM
    Location
    NW Penna
    Posts
    20,178
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked 3,110 Times in 2,272 Posts
    Is it possible you interrupted the power to the relay somehow?

    That’s all I got.....

    Maybe see if the switch is bad by temporarily hooking it direct with a jumper wire?

    Edit to add - I see you already checked the power to the relay.
    Last edited by coaltrain; 02-20-2018 at 06:30 PM.
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to coaltrain For This Useful Post:

    etcallhome (02-20-2018)

  5. Top | #3
    Zebrafive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Last Online
    Today @ 09:48 AM
    Location
    South West Michigan
    Posts
    7,274
    Thanks
    1,534
    Thanked 605 Times in 531 Posts
    You connected power to the switch, then a ground to the switch?
    Seems to me when you turn the switch ON and power goes to ground a fuse will blow.
    J
    John Deere 2030 w/245SL Loader
    John Deere 6415 w/640SL Loader
    John Deere 285 50" deck Stolen May 2017
    John Deere x485 62" deck AWS
    Kawasaki Mule 2510 4x4 bought new 1996
    Ford F250 4x4 bought new 1978

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Zebrafive For This Useful Post:

    etcallhome (02-20-2018)

  7. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

  8. Top | #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Last Online
    08-12-2019 @ 09:49 PM
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 24 Times in 12 Posts
    I agree. Should have power to switch and load out of switch.
    pcabe5 and Old Cajun like this.
    2017 1025R
    H120 FEL
    54D Autoconnect Mower
    14bu Material Collection System
    Ballast Box

  9. Top | #5
    etcallhome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Last Online
    Today @ 07:29 AM
    Location
    Preston County WV
    Posts
    13,513
    Thanks
    3,303
    Thanked 2,505 Times in 1,614 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Zebrafive View Post
    You connected power to the switch, then a ground to the switch?
    Seems to me when you turn the switch ON and power goes to ground a fuse will blow.
    Quote Originally Posted by stg454 View Post
    I agree. Should have power to switch and load out of switch.
    Not sure what I was thinking,,

    Yea need to get rid of the local ground

    Had AC on my mind and even that would have been wrong, real big Senior moment DAA (Dumb A_ _ Attack)

    I would have figured it out about 3am tonight.

    Thanks.
    pcabe5, Zebrafive and Old Cajun like this.
    Gene

    Have fun and be safe !!!
    USAR 8yr 8 mo SSG 99th ARCOM
    JD 1025R, H120 FEL 54" bucket, 54" mmm Auto Conn, 54" Front blade, JD back hoe ,JD IMatch, 48" Bush Hog tiller, Middlebuster from MF dealer, used King Kutter 5' rear blade, a new 47" JD Front blower and Original Tractor cab w/heater.
    We have a Red Honda Pioneer 700-4 (4 seater) w/soft top , doors, and winch.

  10. Top | #6
    Official "Groovie" Dude
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    5,663
    Thanks
    1,459
    Thanked 744 Times in 605 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by etcallhome View Post
    Not sure what I was thinking,,

    Yea need to get rid of the local ground

    Had AC on my mind and even that would have been wrong, real big Senior moment DAA (Dumb A_ _ Attack)

    I would have figured it out about 3am tonight.

    Thanks.
    Don't beat yourself up over this. Happens to all of us at one point or another. I discovered this weekend I did a similar DAA with my cab dome light.
    BigJim55 and Old Cajun like this.

  11. Top | #7
    etcallhome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Last Online
    Today @ 07:29 AM
    Location
    Preston County WV
    Posts
    13,513
    Thanks
    3,303
    Thanked 2,505 Times in 1,614 Posts
    Just came up from removing the ground inside the cab, still no lights.. 12.59v one side of switch.. DA forgot to check the voltage the voltage on other side of NEW toggle switch or if switch was any good.
    So either switch or wiring problem. Original reason for changing switch , lights would work at times and then just go out. Will keep digging till they are working.
    BigJim55 and Old Cajun like this.
    Gene

    Have fun and be safe !!!
    USAR 8yr 8 mo SSG 99th ARCOM
    JD 1025R, H120 FEL 54" bucket, 54" mmm Auto Conn, 54" Front blade, JD back hoe ,JD IMatch, 48" Bush Hog tiller, Middlebuster from MF dealer, used King Kutter 5' rear blade, a new 47" JD Front blower and Original Tractor cab w/heater.
    We have a Red Honda Pioneer 700-4 (4 seater) w/soft top , doors, and winch.

  12. Top | #8
    coaltrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Last Online
    Today @ 07:27 AM
    Location
    NW Penna
    Posts
    20,178
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked 3,110 Times in 2,272 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by etcallhome View Post
    Just came up from removing the ground inside the cab, still no lights.. 12.59v one side of switch.. DA forgot to check the voltage the voltage on other side of NEW toggle switch or if switch was any good.
    So either switch or wiring problem. Original reason for changing switch , lights would work at times and then just go out. Will keep digging till they are working.
    This is one thing I thought of later - what was the original reason for replacing the switch?

    Go back to the beginning to see if you can find the reason.
    Old Cajun likes this.
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

  13. Top | #9
    Zebrafive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Last Online
    Today @ 09:48 AM
    Location
    South West Michigan
    Posts
    7,274
    Thanks
    1,534
    Thanked 605 Times in 531 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by etcallhome View Post
    Just came up from removing the ground inside the cab, still no lights.. 12.59v one side of switch.. DA forgot to check the voltage the voltage on other side of NEW toggle switch or if switch was any good.
    So either switch or wiring problem. Original reason for changing switch , lights would work at times and then just go out. Will keep digging till they are working.
    I would start with the lights. Make sure no loose connections, bad bulbs, loose/corroded bulb sockets, or bad grounds, then work your way back towards the switch, look for bare wire, loose connections, kinked/smashed wires. If these are OK try swapping the relay, you did say there is a relay?
    etcallhome and Old Cajun like this.
    J
    John Deere 2030 w/245SL Loader
    John Deere 6415 w/640SL Loader
    John Deere 285 50" deck Stolen May 2017
    John Deere x485 62" deck AWS
    Kawasaki Mule 2510 4x4 bought new 1996
    Ford F250 4x4 bought new 1978

  14. Top | #10
    coaltrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Last Online
    Today @ 07:27 AM
    Location
    NW Penna
    Posts
    20,178
    Thanks
    1,094
    Thanked 3,110 Times in 2,272 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Zebrafive View Post
    I would start with the lights. Make sure no loose connections, bad bulbs, loose/corroded bulb sockets, or bad grounds, then work your way back towards the switch, look for bare wire, loose connections, kinked/smashed wires. If these are OK try swapping the relay, you did say there is a relay?
    I agree. Also thought of the relay. He said the lights will work then just go out. Maybe the relay is tripping when it gets hot after some use?
    etcallhome and Old Cajun like this.
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

  15. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •