Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Like Tree708Likes

Thread: Debt Free by 35, Our Story

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    Today @ 06:56 AM
    Thanks

Debt Free by 35, Our Story

So I was supposed to start this thread many months ago but it always fell to the backburner. I know there was interest by some members about our progress etc.

The story: I graduated high school in 2005 and immediately started working in a small machine shop (I had worked co-op here for 2 years prior.) I bought a house foreclosure in Nov '07.... then the Recession hit. I stayed employed at that same shop, no issues there. I made decent money and was living a good (well budgeted) life.

I think I was greatly affected by the numerous people I saw coming in literally begging for a job during the recession. My supervisor didn't doubt their skill set, we simply didn't have the work load to support them.

I continued working at this shop until Aug 2012, when I left for a substantial bump in pay to go do plastic injection molding work. I absolutely loved this work, I enjoy learning and this was a whole new world to me. (This is when I decided I didn't want to be in debt but I didn't really have much of a "goal" yet. I just knew I wanted to not dig a deeper hole and paid cash for things.) We used 1 credit card for everything (points baby!) and paid it off every WEEK.

January 2013 I had my wife (girlfriend) quit her job to focus full time on her schooling. She wasn't making much anyways and it was causing her a LOT of unnecessary stress.

August 2013 we got married (we cashflowed $10k of the total $17k bill). I was working 60 hours a week to pay for it.