Had a first the other day. (mini quad story)
Like Tree15Likes
  • 11 Post By SRG
  • 4 Post By PJR832

Thread: Had a first the other day. (mini quad story)

1. Top | #1
    SRG
    Last Online
    Today @ 06:15 PM
    Thanks

Had a first the other day. (mini quad story)

So, last year I bought my daughter a 2006 Suzuki LTz50 4-stroke quad. It was a decent price of $700 and we have the room for her to ride it around. Over all it's in good condition, and they sell for a bit more than that normally, on the used market. Owner was selling it cheap because he couldn't keep it running. He also had one of those Chinese off brand quads he wanted to give me for free. I told him no thanks, and that he could keep that POS lol.

Anyway, I've been chasing my tail with this little quad for the last 9 months or so. It constantly kept coming out of tune it seemed like, and every once in awhile it would flood and the spark plug would be soaked with gasoline. I'd tear the carb apart, clean everything, wire brush the spark plug, drain the gas tank, add fresh fuel, ad Ethanol Shield to the gas, re assemble everything, readjust the carb, get it running. We'd have to baby it to keep it running, throttle it until it got warm etc. Then it would start to wander, and i'd be chasing the tune again after she rode it for awhile. What the hell is going on with this thing? Last time I took it apart, I completely removed the airbox from the chassis. Normally I had been leaving it attached, and just undoing the band clamp off the carb. I notice a hose connected to the crank case, yup, airbox pulls a vacuum on the crankcase, interesting.