Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Shoe Traction

1. Top | #1
    Last Online
    02-24-2017 @ 03:27 PM
    Where the Deere and the antelope... pay MA taxes
    Thanks

Shoe Traction

I'm looking for opinions on ice/snow traction products for your feets. I've been trying out several offerings recently, see photo. Until now, I've been using various versions of the trusty YakTrax for several years. My only problem with them has been that they hack up the surface of anything they touch, such as the pedals and floorboard of a tractor . So, I've been poking around for something that either won't cause damage or that I can don and doff with reasonable ease.

The only style working so far are the yellow ones shown on the boots which are called "Ice Foot Big Claws". Since they sit back near the arch of the foot, they don't seem to touch the pedals and stay out of the way fairly well. But their life expectancy is probably short. The hook and loop straps are the stiff cheap stuff and the plastic probably won't last long. There have been quality complaints from internet reviewers.

All of the other items shown (except for the grey YakTrax) failed for one reason or another. Both of the single strap products work their way toward the front of the foot and fall off as you walk. Totally suck. Garbage. The heel cleat style (orange buckle) stays on the shoe, but your heels aren't on the ground as much as you think they would be so they don't offer a lot of confidence. Plus, they would wear on the tractor floorboard. All of these contenders have the stink of MIC cheapness.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ice traction.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	292.1 KB 
ID:	120449

There are tons of these kinds of products on the market. What have you found that works?
    3720 Cab | 300CX FEL | 375 BH | Frontier AF11E-72 | and lots of Artillian Attachments

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 03:29 PM
    Thanks