ROKU3 ?? Shifting between "SD" and "HD",,,
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: ROKU3 ?? Shifting between "SD" and "HD",,,

  1. Top | #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Last Online
    Today @ 02:58 PM
    Location
    Near Roa. VA
    Posts
    3,579
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 437 Times in 337 Posts

    ROKU3 ?? Shifting between "SD" and "HD",,,

    I run my ROKU3 off of DSL,,, Yea, I know that is bad,,, but sometimes the pic is SD,,, sometimes HD,,,

    I notice if I pause the movie, sometimes (I guess) it buffers the movie and switches from SD to HD.

    I would prefer HD only,,, is there any way to "force" the ROKU to only play in HD??

  2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. Top | #2
    coaltrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Last Online
    Today @ 03:22 PM
    Location
    NW Penna
    Posts
    19,781
    Thanks
    1,057
    Thanked 3,060 Times in 2,225 Posts
    As far as I know you can only control the SD/HD via the stream. Thr Roku unit is going to play whatever is coming down the pipe.

    I know Netflix has options on the streaming level you can get but that depends on your internet speed. I think you need a minimum of 3Mbs for HD and it costs $1 more per month. You can go even higher for more money.

    If you have Netflix set to automatic it will cmstantly look at your download speed and adjust if necessary. It might go back and forth between SD and HD a few times per hour. I have my Neflix set to HD only since I have the download speed.
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

  4. Top | #3
    TickTock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    No longer here
    Posts
    592
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by coaltrain View Post
    As far as I know you can only control the SD/HD via the stream. Thr Roku unit is going to play whatever is coming down the pipe.

    I know Netflix has options on the streaming level you can get but that depends on your internet speed. I think you need a minimum of 3Mbs for HD and it costs $1 more per month. You can go even higher for more money.

    If you have Netflix set to automatic it will cmstantly look at your download speed and adjust if necessary. It might go back and forth between SD and HD a few times per hour. I have my Neflix set to HD only since I have the download speed.
    They're getting you for $2 now for HD content ($7.99 basic, $9.99 for the middle tier). I'm not impressed by that. Actually I became unimpressed when they increased the prices for the 2 DVD + streaming plan. We dropped down to just streaming.

    That said, I love Netflix. We watch a lot of The Andy Griffith Show and various kid shows.
    spferdil and CADplans like this.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. Top | #4
    coaltrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Last Online
    Today @ 03:22 PM
    Location
    NW Penna
    Posts
    19,781
    Thanks
    1,057
    Thanked 3,060 Times in 2,225 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TickTock View Post
    They're getting you for $2 now for HD content ($7.99 basic, $9.99 for the middle tier). I'm not impressed by that. Actually I became unimpressed when they increased the prices for the 2 DVD + streaming plan. We dropped down to just streaming.

    That said, I love Netflix. We watch a lot of The Andy Griffith Show and various kid shows.
    It's $8.99 for the HD but I think I am grandfathered in on the old price for this year.

    Yeah, there really isn't a lot of difference between SD & HD on Netfix but I really do notice it since all I have is analog cable. Just amazing to me the details of everything including the actor's faces.

    So for me the $1 per month is well worth it.
    CADplans likes this.
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

  7. Top | #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Last Online
    Today @ 02:58 PM
    Location
    Near Roa. VA
    Posts
    3,579
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 437 Times in 337 Posts
    This may be my issue,, I had Netflix consistently in HD until recently,,,
    now, probably, everything is 100% SD,,, the SD is too hard on my old eyes,,,

  8. Top | #6
    TickTock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    No longer here
    Posts
    592
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by coaltrain View Post
    It's $8.99 for the HD but I think I am grandfathered in on the old price for this year.

    Yeah, there really isn't a lot of difference between SD & HD on Netfix but I really do notice it since all I have is analog cable. Just amazing to me the details of everything including the actor's faces.

    So for me the $1 per month is well worth it.
    I'm grandfathered in too. New customers are paying $9.99.

  9. Top | #7
    coaltrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Last Online
    Today @ 03:22 PM
    Location
    NW Penna
    Posts
    19,781
    Thanks
    1,057
    Thanked 3,060 Times in 2,225 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CADplans View Post
    This may be my issue,, I had Netflix consistently in HD until recently,,,
    now, probably, everything is 100% SD,,, the SD is too hard on my old eyes,,,
    The past 2 nights our Netflix picture has been terrible - worse than an SD signal. I did my Roku speed test to see what it is getting from the router and getting 9+Mbs as usual. I have a suspision now after checking all my gear that Netflix is having some problems.

    I checked a show on A&E and it was certainly in HD.
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

  10. Top | #8
    TickTock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    No longer here
    Posts
    592
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts

    Use test videos and the * button

    Search Netflix for "Example Short 23.976" to test. Here's the URL, as search is failing:

    http://www.netflix.com/title/70136810

    Also press * on your Roku remote while watching Netflix and it will show you the resolution and other data. See below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0016.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	92.8 KB 
ID:	129193

    And I think the pictures are sideways when taken from a phone. It's auto-rotating to be in landscape mode.
    Last edited by TickTock; 02-10-2016 at 04:18 PM.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to TickTock For This Useful Post:

    coaltrain (02-10-2016)

  12. Top | #9
    coaltrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Last Online
    Today @ 03:22 PM
    Location
    NW Penna
    Posts
    19,781
    Thanks
    1,057
    Thanked 3,060 Times in 2,225 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TickTock View Post
    Search Netflix for "Example Short 23.976" to test. Here's the URL, as search is failing:

    http://www.netflix.com/title/70136810

    Also press * on your Roku remote while watching Netflix and it will show you the resolution and other data. See below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0016.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	92.8 KB 
ID:	129193

    And I think the pictures are sideways when taken from a phone. It's auto-rotating to be in landscape mode.
    Thanks for the tips! I knew about the example short but didn't know about the "*" button - going to try that out tonight.
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

  13. Top | #10
    TickTock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    No longer here
    Posts
    592
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by coaltrain View Post
    Thanks for the tips! I knew about the example short but didn't know about the "*" button - going to try that out tonight.
    I saw it on the screen once and had no idea how it got there. I must have bumped the * button to get it there.
    coaltrain likes this.

  14. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •