Sling TV...Anyone here use it or know anything about it?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By 2LaneCruzer
  • 2 Post By coaltrain
  • 1 Post By TickTock

Thread: Sling TV...Anyone here use it or know anything about it?

  1. Top | #1
    2LaneCruzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:35 AM
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    4,303
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked 502 Times in 360 Posts

    Sling TV...Anyone here use it or know anything about it?

    Just heard about a new TV service that comes over the internet and is WAY cheaper than cable. Any one familiar with it? I think it requires a Smart TV, but we need a new one anyway. My cable is costing enough that I am seriously considering dropping it or changing it after 20 years. This may be a viable alternative. You do need an antenna to get local channels.

    Sling TV: Everything you need to know - CNET
    BigJim55 likes this.
    Have wings, will travel.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. Top | #2
    coaltrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:32 PM
    Location
    NW Penna
    Posts
    19,765
    Thanks
    1,055
    Thanked 3,059 Times in 2,224 Posts
    I know a guy on another forum who has had it for 6 months or so now (it's not really new). He is also a cable cutter.

    He says he is quite happy with it mostly because of the sports he would have missed out on without cable.

    For myself I didn't get it as I watch no sports. You have to look at the networks available and see if it is worth your $20 a month.

    One network that interested me was AMC but come to find out that has an extra fee - so look closely at what is included in the basic package.

    You don't need a new TV to get any of this stuff - Roku, Chrome TV, Apple TV, and a few others give you the same access to hundreds of things like this including Netflix, Amazon Instant Video, Hulu, etc. Myself, I like the stand alone unit better since it is not integrated into the TV. If the app part of the TV goes out you have to replace the whole TV. And you don't know who the app service provider is unless it is specified a Roku Smart TV.

    I have a Roku unit and have been very pleased. It makes it so much easier to browse and select stations on their website rather than trying to navigate with a TV remote.
    grnspot110 and BigJim55 like this.
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

  4. Top | #3
    TickTock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    No longer here
    Posts
    592
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts
    I had it for about 6-8 months. It worked fine on the tablets and such but was a disaster on the Roku 3. It constantly hung or went to buffering, even with a wired connection. To get the channels we wanted, we were paying about $35/month.

    At the end of the day, I was able to get cable TV service with more channels added to our account cheaper than what we were paying for Sling. YMMV
    BigJim55 likes this.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. Top | #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Last Online
    Today @ 06:14 AM
    Location
    Near Roa. VA
    Posts
    3,575
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 437 Times in 337 Posts
    Having only DSL internet keeps me from enjoying these services,,

    Sometimes Netflix is OK,,other times I am glad to have Dish Network.

    So,, I use internet programming as "dessert",, not the "main course",,,

  7. Top | #5
    TickTock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    No longer here
    Posts
    592
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts
    DSL does not always mean slow. I had 20Mb DSL a few years ago. Of course we can only get 2Mb DSL at the new place.

  8. Top | #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Last Online
    Today @ 06:14 AM
    Location
    Near Roa. VA
    Posts
    3,575
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 437 Times in 337 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TickTock View Post
    DSL does not always mean slow. I had 20Mb DSL a few years ago. Of course we can only get 2Mb DSL at the new place.
    My SIL says I have 7.5M,,, anyone recommend a site that gives a good speed check??


  9. Top | #7
    TickTock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    No longer here
    Posts
    592
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts

    Sling TV...Anyone here use it or know anything about it?

    Speedtest.net

    There's even an app for it. 7Mb is plenty for streaming if nothing else is going on.

  10. Top | #8
    coaltrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Last Online
    Today @ 12:32 PM
    Location
    NW Penna
    Posts
    19,765
    Thanks
    1,055
    Thanked 3,059 Times in 2,224 Posts
    I only have 10mbs down and 1mbs up with my cable. I have 2 PCs running all day with my weather station uploading to WU every 20 seconds, my Tivo, Roku wirelessly, and am on my iPad writting this and never had a proglem or slow down.
    ~Stan~
    It is what it is
    Knowledge is power, ignorance is bliss
    2520 w/200CX w/62D2

  11. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts