• 1 Post By tommyhawk

Thread: John Deere D Restoration Advice

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    06-07-2019 @ 07:55 PM
    Thanks

John Deere D Restoration Advice

Morning Everyone,
    I am a John Deere fan thru and thru. I currently bought my first 1025r sub-compact 3 years ago for our acreage and have really loved having this little tractor. But my true passion is in the old John Deere Tractors. I have been researching the John Deere D, A, and B styled and unstyled models for the past 2 years now and am getting closer to making a purchase. The "D" model I would like to be the first of my collection. I would like any info and advice one could provide on things to look for before purchasing one of these "D" tractors. What are the must know's and the must know how's to owning one of these. I am by no means a mechanic or a body shop guy but do have the will and desire to learn.
    For being new to this world I am having a hard time deciding if I should just buy one that is already restored and might just need a little touching up here and there or find one that is at least running but is going to require some work. I think the pride gained doing a lot of the work yourself would be awesome to. I know for sure I want to get one that is at least running because I would like to drive it off the trailer and have the ability to at least use and enjoy it if I want and maybe take it apart over a winter or year or so and make it as nice as I want.
    Long story short am I getting in over my head or are these old tractors basic enough to where a novice could figure just about anything out on these old tractors and could get by seeking out a little advice or help here and there.
    Thank you to all for reading and listening to me and I'm open to any feedback one could give and answer any questions you guys can throw at me.
    I love the John Deere family and community and thanks again to all that help me down this path.
    Travis.
    Travis Pohlman
    Nebraska