• 1 Post By w30bob

Thread: 1020 Steering Issue

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    01-10-2017 @ 03:10 PM
    Thanks

1020 Steering Issue

Hi Guys,

Newbie here. I've got a 1020 with power steering, it's actually a 301 but they're identical, and it has excessive play in the steering wheel. I can basically turn the wheel almost a half turn before the front wheels start to move. When you look at the steering wheel from the side of the tractor you can see it raise up and lower, relative to the housing, when you turn it. So the shaft the steering wheel is bolted to seems to be moving up or down for that half a revolution of the steering wheel before it turns the piece it screws into at the bottom of the shaft. I guess you could call this backlash or free play, but I'm not sure how to remove it. I'd guess the total vertical distance the steering wheel moves up or down before the front wheels start to turn is about 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch.

I've looked at the parts diagrams in my manuals and online and I don't understand what actually wears in the steering housing that might need to be replaced. I don't want to pull the housing apart until I understand how things work. I do see there's a big adjuster nut on the steering wheel shaft right under the steering wheel, but I can't imagine it would screw down that far to take up all that backlash. I would also assume I'm not the only one who has ever had this problem. So if anyone could explain to me what's happening and what parts actually wear............I'd much appreciate it.

thanks,
    bob

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2

Last Online
    Yesterday @ 08:51 PM
    Thanks