Green Tractor Talk banner

JD 2210 lights on all the time

6K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  RayinNc 
#1 ·
Howdy, Ya'll. I'm new to these parts, so be gentle.

I recently acquired a 2210 that I like a lot. Have replaced the PTO switch, broken a deck suspension rod, and now have another problem.

The lights stay on all the time. The switch seems to do nothing.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.:usa

#2 ·
Is it the headlights or the flashers? If it is the flashers you can unplug them. The wiring to them is under the seat pan by the top link of the three point. You can simply unplug them until you get it sorted out. Not sure about where the headlights unplug other than right at the lamp. Both of those recommendations just treat the symptoms not the cause. Also, there 4 screws that hold the dash panel on, remove them and take a look behind the dash and see if you notice anything wrong back there at the light switch. It sounds like your switch has failed. Unplug it from there and see if the lights go out. If you have a multi-meter you can try and test the switch resistance. I am sure someone who is much smarter than me at electrical diagnostics will be along. I owned a 2210 for 4 years but I did not run into that particular issue. I had plenty of others to keep me occupied. :laugh:

Since you just got this tractor, have you read up on the historical drive shaft and PTO issues? For the drive shaft, make sure the U joints get greased on a regular basis.

Reactions: rtgt
#3 ·