Snow blower chute movement. Hydraulic or Electric?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: Snow blower chute movement. Hydraulic or Electric?

1. Top | #1

Last Online
    08-06-2019 @ 08:19 PM
    Thanks

Snow blower chute movement. Hydraulic or Electric?

Newbie here just want some insight to the advantages and dis-advantages of electric vs. hrydulic used for the chute movement on a snow blower. This is going to a purchase over the summer so I'm trying to enlighten myself on this. I see that almost all manufacturers offer both type of set ups. I would think that the electric would be slow compared to the Hyd set up. All opinions are welcomed and encouraged .

Leaning to a rear mounted unit so I can keep the blade on or go back to the FEL.
    Last edited by dieselshadow; 03-17-2014 at 05:05 PM. Reason: edited title for better searches
    2013 1025R, H120 FEL, 54" AutoConnect Deck w/ Ind. Lift and Mulching Kit, John Deere 647 Roto-Tiller 48”, 54" JD Front Hydraulic Blade, Frontier 2060L Rear 5’ Blade, I-Match, Heavy Hitch with 8 Suitcase weights and 2" trailer receiver hitch, Ken's Bolt on hooks and Pedal Extension, Mower Deck Axles, Rim Guard in Tires, PSrumors heavy seat springs, Artillian's Horse Blinders and UHMW cutting edge.

Life Sponsor Ducks Unlimited
    Life Member of NRA

2. Remove Advertisements
    GreenTractorTalk.com
    Advertisements

3. Top | #2
    Last Online
    Today @ 02:05 PM
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,081 Times in 2,547 Posts

-Electric is often easier for the average do-it-yourself'er, most feel intimidated plumbing and working with hydraulics.
    -Hydraulics are a lot more money since buying some switches and wire is much cheaper than hoses, valves, motors and cylinders.
    -Some electric setups are slower, like those with linear actuators, but some use window or other gear motors that can be reasonably fast.
    Kenny

-John Deere 3720 Deluxe Cab TLB